Self and Roots – 1 month in

16/05/2015

It has been a month since I started the Self and Roots blog and I feel like the blog approach to showing the internet what I am doing at home is working, I am pleased that the online community of self-sufficiency and home growing has got in touch and shared their enthusiasm to the little things I have been doing throughout the month. Thank you for the comments and supportive messages, it means a lot. I want to now write about my opinions and findings rather than doing a show and tell style blog, I won’t just be showing off to the world of this so-called ‘good life’ and more so my goals achieved and also my failures following the ethos of Self and Roots by going further down the rabbit hole of self-reliance. wpid-20150516_180352 Today I bought a £1 bag of garden peas from the CO-OP to have with dinner, I picked these up from the freezer cabinet and didn’t feel that I was doing myself a disservice, but whilst bringing the peas to the boil I thought about the packaging, the amount of electric to keep the peas frozen and the manpower and fuel to get them to my supermarket in South Birmingham. With the ease of the service from my local store, I was pleased to have peas but I thought that depending on my supermarket isn’t always going to be the best idea. I need to keep considering these choices I am making and I need to keep finding other alternatives to work out a way of stopping myself going to the supermarket as much as I do at the moment. I mentioned in my homemade all-purpose cleaner post that I want to rid myself of the kitchen roll, but in truth I want to rid myself of this learnt impulsive behaviour of ease and to develop the ideas of nourishment by doing it myself and for the people I love in my life, yes self-sufficiency is an ideology but we have to try and we have to start somewhere. I need to keep considering what I can do to be more efficient at this journey. Kitchen towels or the frozen peas, it is all related and I am treating these decisions and my plans for the future as the same.

2 thoughts on “Self and Roots – 1 month in

Leave a Reply

